Hypoglycemia and panic attacks

mirko A few days ago I bought a book on how to fight depression and anxiety.

I learnt that hypoglycemia (not enough sugar in the blood) can cause panic attacks! I already knew undereating could cause depression and shaking (it did when I was at my lowest) but I totally ignored the symptoms of hypoglycemia.

I eat well. I mean, my food intake is sufficient now. I have three meals a day, plus one or two snacks. Problem is I used to eat breakfast cereal that contains a high rate of simple carbs and hence causes hypoglycemia, especially if you drink lots of coffee in addition, like I do. I used to feel dizzy and shaky, and also panicky around 11am. Not cool. My new cereal contains slow burning carbs (nuts, mainly) and I try to eat a yogurt as well.

Of course, I’ll have to cut down on coffee, and worry less about my work. But this new diet should help.

Leave a Reply

